Product Reviews

Blue Earth Nomad 56

Average: 5 34 Reviews
  • Sroldan4/13/2020 10:47 AM
    "Nomad Blue earth"
    I want to give it a 5 rating but just haven't used enough. They are beautiful colors, love the value system that they are already set up for me, love the care in packaging they all were intact and in perfect condition. Using them is my challenge. I have some sennilier pastels which are quite soft but I think these might be softer. I find myself holding them so gingerly because I don't want to crush them, in some respects it great to keep me using soft strokes. I need to get used to them.
  • Josephine Herrera4/11/2020 9:58 AM
    "Missing a color list!"
    Hi, I love the nomad collection. Very creamy and beautiful colors. However, when I opened it up there was no legend telling me what color numbers or names were included.
  • Josephine Herrera4/9/2020 4:27 AM
    "Excellent soft, and conveniently arranged"
    These pastels are beautiful. Good colors, soft, arranged by hue, value, and intensity. I love them.
  • Melanie Beagle4/4/2020 10:03 AM
    "Melanie"
    I’m new to pastel blocks and so the arrangement of values in the box is very helpful to me. I have used Rembrandt pastels for large areas and Blue Earth pastels are very soft in comparison. They go on easily and cover a lot.
  • Sharon Lefebvre3/31/2020 6:37 AM
    "Blue Earth Nomad"
    Love these little beauties. I like to keep them in their box (which I can easily use as a traveling setup). Love the softness and the range of hues.
  • Shelley V. Snow3/20/2020 10:00 AM
    "Blue Earth Nomad 56"
    The set is perfect size to try out these pastels and a fair price. I haven't had the chance yet to use it because of the national situation we all are in. But the colors are lovely and usable and Dakota Service excellent.
  • Mary Jane Card2/28/2020 5:12 AM
    "Blue Earth Nomad pastels"
    The set of pastels arrived intact and quickly to snowy northern Canada. They are beautifully packaged, silky to touch, delicious selection of colours, and exciting to use. A real treat.
  • Sam2/21/2020 5:50 AM
    "Happy with my purchase"
    My package arrived brilliantly packages so as not damage to the precious cargo. The pastels are as smooth as butter and I will be a repeat customer.
  • Helen1/23/2020 9:28 AM
    "Nice Set"
    Of the brands that I have tried so far, I like Blue Earth the best. It is almost as soft as the Schminke line, but not as powdery. It does not look like it in the picture, but the darks are very dark indeed, and the second from the darkest colors are nice, saturated hues. The tints of these colors are not found in most assorted sets. Overall, this set would be well-suited for portraiture, since there are great many pinkish and tanish colors. There are three rows of greens, but only one row of blues. So if you buy this set you might want to supplement it with additional single blues, blue grays, and blue greens to round it out. Red, yellow, and blue are represented, along with purple, green, and orange. There is one row of blacks and grays, along with another row of warm blacks and grays. I wish I could post a picture of the swatches I drew, so that you could get an idea of what the true colors really are. They are more intense and saturated than the picture makes them appear.
  • Christine Amstutz1/4/2020 4:44 AM
    "Nomade set"
    OMG what a pleasure to work with these pastels. It is my first try with Blue Earth pastels. I will be back for more! They are soooo buttery smooth ... have such exclusive colours ...
  • Sunny in Tucson12/22/2019 11:09 AM
    "Great for Plein Air"
    This is a great small selection of colors that is well-packed for taking outdoor.
  • Beverley Drew11/24/2019 10:15 AM
    "Dreamer."
    Lovely buttery pastels. Great colour range & I love the way they are set up, dark to lights. A joy to paint with. Thank you!
  • Sheila Walters11/11/2019 3:40 AM
    "Great"
    As yet unused as they are my Christmas present but they arrived super quick, customer service was good and they were beautifully packaged and look amazing.
  • Carole Degnan10/24/2019 6:45 AM
    "Only the best will do!"
    Quality is amazing!
  • Linda Crisostomo10/22/2019 1:27 PM
    "Exceptional Pastel Set"
    Blue Earth Nomad 56 Use them and keep them in the box! These are too good to mingle with my other pastels. Creamy and smooth, buttery texture! Highly recommend to all my art friends!
  • Anabella Cortes Art9/8/2019 3:57 PM
    "Blue Earth Pastels"
    Love their colors beautiful to use them at the last details of the painting. They are very soft.
  • Bonita DeHaven8/18/2019 10:27 PM
    "Blue Earth Nomad 56"
    I love Blue earth pastels. Soft but easily handled on the paper. Love the shape much better than rounds. Loved the increments of values in this set. Total thumbs up.
  • Donna Tweedle8/15/2019 2:29 AM
    "You always need more pastels!"
    I ordered this set for a trip my husband and I will be going on with some friends. I already have a huge collection of pastels in my studio plus several plein air set ups. Condensed as much as possible, but still a hassle. I’m hoping this quick set will allow me to be ready to paint quickly. I’m very pleased the set came fast. The only problem ,and it may have been my fault was two broken sticks. The colors are perfect for what I intend to paint!
  • William Church7/19/2019 1:48 PM
    "Blue Earth Nomad 56"
    The Blue Earth Pastels are an excellent product but they arrived in bad shape from the USPS. There was pastel dust even on the outer container. When I opened the inner box there was so much dust it looked an all blue/dark violet series. There were also chips and flakes of pastels everywhere. However, once the mess was cleaned up, I would say that the loss was less than10%. First problem I have ever encountered with your shipping.
  • Pam Matchie-Thiede7/18/2019 8:39 AM
    "Blue Earth Nomad - I Like!"
    As a new painter it helps me to have the paints arranged in order of value. I made swatches of the various color and value combinations, in addition to the layout of the box. The pastels go on smoothly and I like the layering. Looking forward to painting on the road and with clips. I appreciated Karen Margulis’ YouTube video. It’s how I found these gems. I have visited Dakota Pastel. The people and the products are great!
  • Debbyn Rapoport6/9/2019 9:05 AM
    "Perfect Travel Kit!"
    Love these! This is the perfect travel set. I needed to add some additional colors in a secondary box, but overall, this set was PERFECT. Great quality with Blue Earth, too!
  • crr5/13/2019 6:47 AM
    "beautiful"
    I am very new to pastel painting, so I don’t have a lot to judge by, but I love using these... they feel like butter! And the colors are lovely. They came highly recommended by friend and teacher. So glad I bought them.
  • Bill Haack4/15/2019 12:56 PM
    "Blue Earth nomad56"
    Well made. Fare value. Great addition to my pastels.
  • Melissa Begay4/11/2019 5:04 PM
    "Just like butter"
    LOVE these pastels. The feel of the blue earth pastels are fabulous. So smooth and silky. The color pallet of the Nomad is gorgeous! You will not be disappointed if you purchase these.
  • Shirley Shirley4/9/2019 8:45 AM
    "Review"
    Love the shape and colors. They are soft and creamy. Only family missing is turquoise. When sprayed with Grumbacher matte fixative it killed the color. What do you suggest?
  • Christine Rooney4/6/2019 7:40 AM
    "A gorgeous set"
    This set will take you through the day. It's all I need for travel! Beautiful natural colors and values.
  • Steph Teeter4/5/2019 6:55 AM
    "Blue Earth Nomad 56 pastel box"
    Nice collection of colors and values. Small sticks but hold together well.
  • Diane3/31/2019 10:37 AM
    "Fabulous!"
    LOVE this set! You are much better than me at pulling colors for a small travel set of pastels. Other than a few more blues, I haven't needed any other colors.
  • Cieljaune3/22/2019 4:43 AM
    "Fine, compact set for Plein air"
    This set shows how useful the Blue Earth approach to palette design is. A few hues laid out in pale-to-dark and saturated-to-neutral versions. IMPORTANT NOTE: The Dakota photos of this set do not represent the neutrals st all well. In the actual sticks, the neutrals are fine, well assorted, and very useful colors. The beautiful near-neutrals are my favorite parts of this set, but the seven pure colors are good when you need to paint a strongly colored passage. The cardboard mini-pochade is a great idea and very useful when you’re going ultra light with your plein air equipment. Add a few hard sticks and you’re set to go.
  • Carolyn B Hancock3/9/2019 12:19 PM
    "Perfect for Portraits"
    The purchase was a treat for me. As a pastel only artist, I haven't bought pastels since the 2017 IAPS convention. As a portrait artist, I wanted pastels that did not need to be broken or unwrapped. Even though this set is not marketed as a "portrait set," the colors looked neutral enough, with all values, that I decided they would work for skin tones. And they do. Love the size and the crisp edges. I did a video using them for painting small shapes. Perfect. https://youtu.be/g0t8ZJwozkI
  • RENEE J SHIELDS3/9/2019 9:20 AM
    "Blue Earth Nomad 56"
    Packaged well. Good pastels. Colors looked brighter on line. They are pretty muted.
  • Gisela Llorens3/9/2019 9:00 AM
    "Excellent"
    I’m in love with this set. Every value and temperature for each hue. Love it.
  • Bonny Teinhart3/9/2019 4:46 AM
    "Blue earth"
    Buttery and perfect size. Referred several of my workshop classmates to you specifically for the blue earth
  • Dr Bill Westerman3/9/2019 2:06 AM
    "Blue Earth Nomad 56"
    These pastels and the method of packaging them for transport and use are excellent.