Product Reviews

Pastel Samplers

Average: 5 28 Reviews
  • Tim White4/4/2022 10:44 AM
    "Pastel Sampler"
    Excellent selection from top manufacturers of pastels. A great way to learn about the individual qualities of the different manufacturers and which ones work best for me. A very economical way as well.
  • Caitlin Pollock7/25/2020 4:37 AM
    "Great brands, poor assortment"
    I love the idea of samplers, I have bought many across a couple of websites and I am so glad I happened upon a hard sampler, it was so helpful in making decisions on which brand to commit to. That being said... I was a little unhappy with the color selection, I do understand it is a sampler and you get what you get but they were almost all dark blue!! I think for a lot of people having the same color helps with comparing across brands, but for me I would rather have a varied palette to integrate into my pastel collection
  • Anita Jakob7/23/2020 5:56 PM
    "Pastel Sampler"
    This was better than expected for an assortment of pastels to try. They were pack so well as was the rest of my order. Fast fast service!!!!
  • Judith A Rowland7/23/2020 9:11 AM
    "Perfect Opportunity"
    Having a set like this gave me the opportunity to try a variety of Artist Quality Pastels of varying textures and learn which ones suited my style of work and my handedness. Because of the color selection I was able to see how they worked with one another and how the different brands played together. I can't recommend these highly enough. The Dakota sampler set gives the artist a complete picture before they invest in a large purchase. Then, they can make the correct choice for their needs and not spend a fortune on items that may not work for them at all. Thank you, April for such an idea. Your service was invaluable.
  • MF7/9/2020 4:55 AM
    "Wonderful sampler"
    I couldn’t be happier with the selection of soft pastels. There is one of each of the soft pastel brands that Dakota carries. As a beginner it is nice to experience the unique qualities of each and compare. I thought it might help me favor one brand over the other but instead I want some from all.
  • Terri Rosenblum6/27/2020 4:38 PM
    "Pastel Sampler"
    The sampler is a great way to try out several brands without having to buy a lot of full sets
  • Alta6/6/2020 6:51 PM
    "Excited"
    The samples were so much fun to try. Most excitement I’ve had in years.
  • Cynthia Wood5/7/2020 1:40 AM
    "Save money & time!"
    Fabulous way to check out comparisons between manufacturers without breaking the bank by buying sets as well as a convenient way to increase your pastel collection in certain color ranges. Particularly suited for newer pastelists.
  • Sarah Mitchell5/4/2020 2:26 AM
    "Soft Pastel Sampler"
    Great! This sampler set allows me to try all the pastel brands that I was interested in trying. The brighter yellows are exactly what I wanted. Thanks
  • Karen Audouin4/9/2020 2:47 AM
    "Pastel sampler"
    Excellent idea for those unfamiliar or wanting to try different brands of pastels without making a big investment.
  • Leila Hall4/4/2020 1:08 PM
    "sampler blue pastels"
    GReat fun! I especially love the Schminke and Blue earth blues.
  • Linda Holmes3/23/2020 5:53 AM
    "Thrilled"
    Love trying the selection so that when I’m able to order sets I’ll be making good choices. My fixed income limits the amount I can spend, but quality is important. Wanting a set of Terry Ludwig is my goal. Fingers crossed!
  • Christine Rooney1/24/2020 12:45 PM
    "Wonderful"
    In my previous review about your paper and board samples I wrote about what a great service this is. I have also ordered the soft pastel samples so my students can test the various brands. It's a life and money saver for sure. Plus I have ordered this a number of times and the colors you send are always different. It's like opening a surprise present!
  • Marsha A Schauer1/24/2020 6:12 AM
    "I bought the dark pastel sampler"
    Dakota Arts offers great sampler products for paper and pastels. This is a nice assortment of darks from the major pastel makers. I am pleased.
  • VAnessa1/10/2020 3:55 AM
    "Love this"
    I love this selection of pastels! It’s a great way to add a variety of high quality chunks of color goodness:) I have just started to get serious with pastels after being a printer/ painter/ teacher for years- these are just what one needs as they start to explore better brands.
  • Kristin11/16/2019 4:53 AM
    "Pastel sampler"
    I was so excited to receive this pastel sampler, mainly to try a nice variety of brands. I discovered a brand I probably never would have bought through this set, so that was great and well worth trying. I did not give a full star rating because two of the pastels, which I like, came without a wrapper and I have no idea what brand they are, or what color. I would appreciate a chart of the names and brands of the pastels to be included in the set.
  • Deb11/1/2019 9:52 AM
    "Sampler"
    What a great way to sample different brands! Loved the options provided and the convenient way to try each one
  • Katie K10/18/2019 9:32 PM
    "Love the samplers!"
    I’ve now purchased both the green and blue samplers. It’s been a great way to try some shades I might not of picked up personally, and also to try brands I haven’t tried before. I’m usually pretty faithful to Sennelier soft pastels, but I’m now also enjoying some of the others.
  • Marilyn Hansen3/15/2019 7:23 AM
    "Dakota Pastels is my Go-To"
    The customer service at Dakota Pastels is tops. They can accommodate you and your needs very well. I called them for a set of the pink sampler set and it was sent to me quickly and packaged perfectly. I have purchased quite a bit from this excellent company. Everything pastels. Makes perfect sense. And their sales are great!
  • Mary Mooradian2/28/2019 7:16 PM
    "green sampler"
    I used these pastels for a drawing, it's great to try the different textures from each company! Now I have plenty of green shades, maybe I'll try another range later. Thanks.
  • Sheila12/11/2018 3:31 PM
    "Blue Pastel Samplers"
    Lovely idea to try pastels from several different pastel companies. Gives you a good idea on how they work on your favourite papers. Pastels came well packaged so no broken pastels enroute.
  • Mary Lewis Sheehan12/1/2018 5:07 PM
    "Samplers"
    Love getting to use so many brands. Handy to buy categories I need like lights n greens
  • Sheila Mitchell11/15/2018 2:56 PM
    "Green and Blue Sampler"
    This is a good idea, gives you a chance to try out different manufacturers of soft pastels. There are 2 pastels in each box that do not have a label so hard to know if they are Terry Ludwig or not!
  • Patricia Young8/13/2018 5:33 AM
    "Pastel Sampler"
    Great box of colors and brand selection.
  • Stephanie7/20/2018 8:28 PM
    "Great for the new pastel artist"
    This is a great way to try the many brands to find your favorite. The only problem is that I love them all.
  • Brad7/18/2018 7:11 AM
    "Pastel sampler"
    This was a great introduction to a variety of soft pastels and fairly economical. Huge problem:I like them all!
  • Jackie F.7/9/2018 5:21 AM
    "Great Product!"
    This is a wonderful way to sample a variety of brands without breaking the bank.
  • Julie7/1/2018 7:17 AM
    "Fun trying these out"
    I really enjoyed my pastel sampler. I got the dark sampler, and was a little disappointed that 2 of them were black ( both of the Diane Townsend’s). I wanted more colors. I was really impressed with the Terry Ludwig and the Blue Earth. The shape, size and smoothness were outstanding. Being new to pastels, I liked the sampler pack so I could try out all those wonderful brands before I buy a set. They were packaged great, and arrived perfect, thanks Dakota!