Product Reviews

Dakota Deluxe Travel Small

Average: 5 45 Reviews
  • Brenda Delle4/27/2020 2:50 PM
    "Dakota Deluxe Travel Box"
    I have used a Dakota Travel Box for a number of years. It is great for travel and to just open in my studio. I liked it so much that I now have 2 of them.
  • Pastel Mel3/26/2020 6:05 AM
    "Dakota Deluxe Small Travel"
    This is a beautifully crafted box that will last quite a while. It arrived quickly and exceeded my expectations. I can see the larger travel case in my future! Thanks, Dakota, for upholding a standard of excellence in your products.
  • Frances Crosthwait3/16/2020 11:24 AM
    "Best pastel box"
    Perfect for my needs, very well made, almost too pretty to use, best product out there in my opinion, thank you, this is my third pastel box I have bought from you guys and the other two are still just as good as when I first got them.
  • Ann Libbey3/9/2020 10:48 AM
    "Excellent Travel Case"
    This is a beautifully made case. It's sturdy, elegant, convenient for travel, and holds many pastels (I have to order more to fill it!). I look forward to using this for years to come!
  • Sheila Halstead2/27/2020 2:27 AM
    "So happy I got this box!"
    This box is the perfect size and allows me to see all of my colors in an organized manner.
  • Lora Lee Gelles2/14/2020 12:16 PM
    "Small pastel box"
    Oooh la la. I ordered the smaller box, and it's just the right size to go to class with and haul my pastels. The quality is superb. You get what you pay for!
  • Maria Poliner2/3/2020 4:31 AM
    "Dakota Travel case small"
    Very pleased. Quality case. Hope to use on plein air outings.
  • EDC1/4/2020 11:12 AM
    "Perfect box for travel"
    Perfect box for transporting pastels. Very well made. One suggestion would be to make the partitions so that they could be removed if needed, these ones are fixed and are not removable. Would recommend this item. Thanks Dakota art pastels 😊
  • Tami Dalley1/2/2020 11:56 AM
    "pastel storage"
    Beautifully made box
  • Dornan12/12/2019 4:26 PM
    "Love this box!"
    Light and easy to pack and use. I now have 2!
  • Jerri Ross12/12/2019 2:15 PM
    "Small Travel Box"
    Beautiful box!!! I can hardly wait to set it up!
  • Pat Dixon11/4/2019 6:58 PM
    "Recommended"
    My friend order this so I knew what I was getting. Love having a selection of pastels in one box. I was surprised how heavy it is when full, so I’m glad I got this size for traveling.
  • Andrew Eulass10/18/2019 9:22 AM
    "Dakota Deluxe Travel Small"
    Very nice construction and easy to carry around. No complaints!
  • Janet Johnson10/13/2019 2:12 AM
    "Pastels on the go"
    Well made product; ample room for more than sufficient supply of pastels for workshops, classes, and plein air.
  • Jeannette Bontigao10/10/2019 7:31 AM
    "Just what I needed"
    I just started working with soft pastels and my collection is small. It's the perfect size to fit in my large tote bag.
  • Melissa10/1/2019 9:51 AM
    "Small package, large reward"
    As a new pastels painter, this small travel case is perfect for my collection of pastels. I have the entire second half to fill. This case is sturdy and easy to haul wherever you go.
  • Christy Verity9/16/2019 4:22 AM
    "Well made!"
    Beautifully made! Very solid. I am sure my pastels will be well protected. This case is large enough to organize my small collection by color and value.
  • Sherry9/7/2019 7:11 AM
    "Pastel carrier"
    Just what I was looking for very pleased with my purchase. Very well made!
  • otdavis43@gmail .com8/11/2019 6:58 PM
    "Deluxe travel case"
    Excellent
  • Sue Craley7/29/2019 4:25 PM
    "Just Love this Box!"
    It is light and is more than big enough for all my pastels. The Dakota Company itself is very good to deal with.
  • Al Richards7/20/2019 3:58 AM
    "Small Pochade"
    Hardware seems like it might not hold up but time will tell. Would like to see a size between Small and large. Waiting for my easel to see how the system works. Ordered two days ago - haven’t heard anything.
  • Arthur7/18/2019 11:12 AM
    "Travel box"
    Fantastic product. Lightweight and really well made.
  • Dorothy Moore7/11/2019 8:57 AM
    "Small poached"
    i am very happy with the small pochad I received from you. Now I can lay out all my pastels in one place. It is just perfect for my needs.
  • mary emerick6/15/2019 6:09 PM
    "time to paint"
    I received my box in two days, super fast. I like that the box holds all different size pastels, small or large. The box size fits into my backpack and fits on my easel for plein air. It's a good size to travel with. So far it has been a great fit.
  • Claudia Moffitt6/14/2019 8:33 AM
    "Dakota Deluxe Travel Small"
    Love the Deluxe Travel Pastel Box. I have been using pastels for years and love having the convenience and mobility. Very expensive. Good service from Dakota.
  • Dana Brett-Levy6/9/2019 6:31 AM
    "Deluxe Travel Small"
    Beautifully made and great design. Very happy with product and the quality looks excellent. Great travelling case to carry all your pastels and without any breakage. Highly recommend.
  • Brian Sever6/8/2019 4:12 PM
    "Pastel box"
    Item came perfectly packed and extremely fast delivery. Very pleased with the item I ordered.
  • Iris Mack Dayoub5/27/2019 1:23 PM
    "Perfect for Plein Air"
    The box is well made and fits perfectly on my easel. Love the extra strong padding to protect my pastels while traveling. And it's pretty.
  • Doreen Garlipp5/27/2019 8:39 AM
    "Dakota Deluxe Travel Small"
    Beautifully made, perfect size for taking to art classes. A must have for pastel artists!
  • Joyce Henstrand5/20/2019 11:15 PM
    "Looking forward to using this."
    The box is well made and attractive. Although it is compact, the space for storing pastels is generous. It will be nice to have most of my pastels in one convenient place.
  • Karen Norman5/19/2019 10:01 AM
    "Dakota Deluxe Travel Small"
    A great little box for plein air. Keeps my pastels safe. I purchased 2 large and 2 small pastel storage boxes to hold my studio pastels. They all fit perfectly on a folding table 24"x60". It makes it easy to pick and choose pastels when they are laid out in front of me. What is especially nice is that I can close the boxes and store them easily if need be. Also Dakota is an awesome company to work with.
  • Karlyn Williams5/12/2019 6:57 PM
    "Dakota Travel Small"
    This travel box is sturdy and well-constructed. Design-wise, I would have mounted the carry handle on the same side as the buckle flippers. I'm a novice and bought this as a lightweight box to take to art class. My 120 piece Sennelier Pastels set almost filled it up. If you plan to buy more colors, get a bigger box.
  • Christine Leaming5/2/2019 2:27 PM
    "Have pastels, will travel"
    The Dakota Deluxe Small Travel case is perfect to carry my pastels around the world or to a local art meet. It is beautifully made and I can see it will be part of my equipment for many years to come.
  • Linda Gardner4/29/2019 7:39 AM
    "Good quality"
    I would give it a five but it is heavy.
  • Lu Harris1/27/2019 10:59 AM
    "Small deluxe travel"
    Very happy.
  • joyce trainer1/26/2019 3:57 PM
    "pastel box"
    fantastic
  • Hughann Cotton12/29/2018 9:01 AM
    "Dakota Deluxe Travel small"
    Sturdy small box and holds a lot of pastels. I have a larger box that is too heavy to carry to class and workshops. My travel box is perfect. Very pleased with it and you will be too.
  • Elaine12/21/2018 3:26 AM
    "Dakota travel case"
    Wonderful case that fits most of my pastels. Beautifully made. Not too heavy. Perfect for traveling for plain air or classes. Very happy.
  • Jane Varga11/15/2018 1:00 PM
    "Box arrived with cracks - Dakota Rep was SUPER!"
    The box was fine except for the cracks so Dakota's quality control was not at it's best. Conversely, the young woman who helped me when I called was excellent - she quickly sent me a postage paid label and I look forward to receiving a replacement box (with no cracks) very soon!
  • Laura11/5/2018 8:35 AM
    "Great Pastel travel case"
    Extremely sturdy and the memory foam keeps the pastels in place nicely.
  • Sarane McHugh11/1/2018 7:04 PM
    "Christmas Value"
    This box for pastels is a perfect size for me to manage when painting a distance away from my studio. I recently carried it to a five day workshop which involved a fair amount of relocation on a daily basis. During that time my pastels were well organized and easily transported.
  • Arturo Fribourg10/3/2018 8:07 AM
    "Review of the Dakota small pastel travel box"
    At first glance the box is great. It's smaller and lighter than the large Dakota box I have. It actually could be an inch or so larger in both dimensions to get a few more pastels in.
  • Arturo Fribourg10/1/2018 6:20 AM
    "Review of the small Dakota travel pastel box."
    The Dakota Pastel box is compact, well built and light for what it carries. I have the large travel model but it is too heavy and cumbersome for plein air applications. The new smaller box could be slightly larger but not so much to make it unwieldy, perhaps 2" longer to accommodate 30 to 50 or so more half stick pastels.
  • Ann8/30/2018 2:52 AM
    "Dakota Deluxe Travel Small"
    Nice sturdy box that holds a lot of pastels.
  • PButler7/13/2018 12:08 PM
    "Love this case"
    I absolutely love this pastel case. It's perfect for my needs since I have another case. Although if I had thought about it I probably should have bought the large one and retired my older heavier case.