Product Reviews

Dakota Pochade Box w/ Mount

Average: 5 12 Reviews
  • Terri Giesen11/29/2019 4:42 PM
    "Fantastic"
    Thanks for the prompt delivery to Queensland Australia. It is great
  • Julie D10/4/2019 2:18 PM
    "Follow up on my review "Feeling so-so about this box""
    I've had this box about 2 months now, and I can't take it anywhere. Every time I've tried, the clasp has popped open, and all my pastels have spilled out into my backpack. As far as I'm concerned, this is a fail. Am looking for new locking mechanisms to attach to this box.
  • Deb9/30/2019 2:00 PM
    "Most are very well made..."
    These are generally very good, affordable pochade boxes. I got my third one & the foam on cover & the latch were not aligned well, making it hard to close properly. Just suggest inspecting them prior to shipping them out to weed out defective ones. Thank you! Service is mostly great from Dakota!
  • diane edwards8/30/2019 9:29 AM
    "Great pastel and oil box"
    I really like this box, it's very light and I can put my pastels in or even my oil tubes...it fits on my ultra light tripod and I can put everything in one bag and go!
  • Julie D8/2/2019 3:20 AM
    "Feeling so-so about this box"
    I wanted something that was light and would easily fit in a backpack. It's definitely light, and it fits a surprising number of pastels without the black foam insert. (For reference, I'd say about 120 of Sennelier's half stick size pastels would easily fit. The corners have finger joints, so those are strong and stable The yellow memory foam is nice for cushioning and holding pastels in place. However, there are some features I don't particularly love. The bottom of the box feels a bit flimsy to me, and I worry it might pop out in time. I also feel like it's just a matter of time before the leather straps break. The locking mechanism isn't my favorite either. I feel like it could easily accidentally be popped open. However, it was the lightest box I found, and it was a relatively inexpensive pochade from a reputable company, so I took a chance. I'll probably end up hacking this box, though, to suit my needs.
  • Linda Mutti5/19/2019 9:42 AM
    "Great pochade box"
    Love the light weight pochade box for painting en Plein Air! It makes hiking in to a site a lot easier
  • Mlg4/14/2019 7:08 AM
    "Mrs"
    Nice little light weight Plein Aire box
  • Deb1/31/2019 2:06 AM
    "Great pastel box"
    Very excited to receive the package - swift delivery and packed well. Great quality box and it fulfilled my expectations. I’m sure I’ll have this for the rest of my life.
  • Dugganart1/19/2019 7:31 AM
    "Awesome travel box"
    I use this pochade box as a travel box. It has a great lightweight and minimalist design. Nothing fussy to open or close or keep the easel back open. The foam inserts are like a nice little bed for the pastels- keeping them comfortably in place. There is plenty of room for a good selection of pastels and the lid is sturdy for drawing and leaning on. To keep the dust from falling in the box I have a piece of “L” shaped cardboard under my pastel block when I draw. In comparison to my Heilman box this one stands as a good companion. The Sienna pochade I returned and got this one. The Sienna pochade has very thin foam and is overly fussy with all of its things to tighten after I loaded up that box and stood it up I could hear all my pastels tumble around! I have not yet used the tripod mount. So happy I found the Dakota Pochade!
  • Roberta Fletcher10/17/2018 7:50 AM
    "Dakota Pochade"
    I really love the quality of this pochade box, beautiful wood and joinery. I do however wish that the lid had the option of locking at 90 degrees so the pastel dust did not fall on the painting and would prefer a more secure style of latch, something that wouldn't open with an unexpected bump.
  • Margaret Bradburn10/3/2018 2:15 PM
    "Perfect for Plein Air painting"
    I used my new pochade box today when I was out plein air painting. It was easy to attach to the tripod and was light weight. And it held enough pastels to complete my painting. My umbrella attached to it easily. Glad I invested in the box.
  • Jessica Vollman9/9/2018 8:13 AM
    "Just what I wanted!"
    I just received my new pochade box. I have been in the market for one for awhile now. I was looking at Dakotas travel box, but I wanted one that had an easel with it and could sit on either a table or a tripod. The travel box did not meet those needs. So I went looking at the Heilman backpack box. This seemed to meet my needs but boy was it expensive and I am a novice pastel artist. I was even going to try to make my own. Then I saw that Dakota came out with a new box, and it completely met my need and wants. I received it very quickly, it was beautifully made and very sturdy. it doesn't even rock while sitting on a table. I have not used it yet. But I cant wait to set it up and get started!